Arul Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD, elected to the National Academy of Science

By Lynn McCain | April 28 2020

Congratulations to Arul M. Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD, on his prestigious election to the National Academy of Science! Chinnaiyan is an investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; and S.P. Hicks Endowed Professor of Pathology, American Cancer Society Research Professor, and director, Michigan Center for Translational Pathology, University of Michigan Medical School, Ann Arbor.


The National Academy of Sciences announced on April 27, 2020, the election of 120 members and 26 international members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Four members of the University of Michigan were elected. In addition to Chinnaiyan, these include:

Blum, Joel D.; John D. MacArthur Professor, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, and Gerald J. Keeler Distinguished Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, department of earth and environmental sciences, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Griess, Robert L.; John Griggs Thompson University Professor, department of mathematics, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Smith, Janet L.; professor of biological chemistry, department of biological chemistry, and Margaret J. Hunter Collegiate Professor, Life Sciences Institute, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor