Experimental Pathology

Centers and Institutes

The University of Michigan is fortunate to have a myriad of Centers and Institutes, dedicated to studying a wide range of clinical, translational and basic scientific areas. These Centers and Institutes are exceptional ways to foster and promote the research done In the Medical School. We are proud that our Department of Pathology faculty have leadership roles, as well as academic appointments in multiple of these Centers and Institutes.


Mary H. Weiser Food Allergy Center

Nicholas W. Lukacs, PhD -  Scientific Director


Catherine Ptaschinski, PhD


Michigan Center for Translational Pathology

Arul Chinnaiyan, Director

Faculty Members: Paul Harms, MD
Chandan Kumar, PhD
Priya Kunju, MD
Rohit Mehra, MD
Dan Rhodes, PhD
Dan Robinson, PhD
Scott Tomlins, MD, PhD
Sooryanarayana Varambally, PhD
Xiaoju (George) Wang, PhD
Yi-Mi Wu, PhD


Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research

Steven L. Kunkel, PhD, Cabinet member


Nathan Shock Center in the Biology of Aging and Geriatrics Center

Richard A. Miller, MD, PhD – Director, & Comparative Biogerontology Core Director

Faculty: Evan Keller, PhD


Paul F. Glenn Center for Aging Research

Richard A. Miller, MD, PhD – Glenn Center Director, Director, Core Facility for Slow-Aging Mice

Faculty Members: David Lombard, MD, PhD
Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD


University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

Eric Fearon, MD, PhD, Director of University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center

Arul Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD, Director, Specialized Program of Research Excellence in Prostate Cancer

Cancer Center Members: Henry Appelman, MD
Sandra Camelo-Piragua, MD
Kathleen Cho, MD
Tomasz Cierpicki, PhD
Robert Davenport, MD
Yali Dou, PhD
Gregory Dressler, PhD
David Ferguson, MD, PhD
Thomas Giordano, MD, PhD
Joel Greenson, MD
Jolanda Grembecka, PhD
Evan Keller, MPVM, DVM, PhD
Chandan Kumar, PhD
Lakshmi Kunju, MD
Yifan Liu, PhD
David Lombard, MD, PhD
David Lucas, MD
Rohit Mehra, MD
Andrew Muntean, MD
Jeffrey Myers, MD
Zaneta Nikolovska-Coleska, PhD
Gabriel Nunez, MD
Jean-Francois Rual, PhD
Jiaqi Shi, MD, PhD
Lloyd Stoolman, MD
Dafydd Thomas, MD, PhD
Scott Tomlins, MD, PhD
James Varani, PhD
Xiaoju Wang, PhD
Thomas Wilson, MD, PhD


UM Center for Integrative Research in Critical Care

Member: Steven L. Kunkel, PhD