Employees Recognized for Years of Service and for Going Above and Beyond

By Lynn McCain | November 22 2022

The room was punctuated with applause as the standing-room-only crowd recognized employee after employee as they made their way to the front of the room at the 2022 Awards Reception held on Friday, November 11, 2022. For the first time since the COVID pandemic began, employees were recognized in person and treated to light snacks and desserts.

Dr. Charles Parkos, Chair of Pathology, personally thanked each employee for their years of service, Twenty-seven employees celebrated 10 years of service, fourteen celebrated 20 years of service, three made it to 30 years of service and one, Peggy Otto was honored for 40 years of service! Once these forty-five employees were honored, each division recognized their employees who received the Above and Beyond Awards.

Above and Beyond Award recipients were nominated for the awards by co-workers, individuals from other departments, or patients who experienced the employees going above and beyond expectations in their work. A total of seventy individuals were recognized along with three group awards. As each nomination was read, faces in the audience reacted to the exceptional nature of the actions of the recipients. On several occasions, employees were recognized for taking action that resulted in patient harm being avoided and even in saving a patient’s life. These award recipients modestly acknowledged sustained applause from their colleagues. You make us all proud!

This recognition event would not have been possible without the efforts of Yvonne Beadle, Administrative Specialist in the Division of Finance and Administration. We would be remiss in not recognizing her efforts in coordinating the event, selecting excellent refreshments, and making sure everyone felt appreciated. Thank you, Yvonne!

Below you will find the full list of award recipients along with photos of the event. If you note someone going above and beyond this year, be sure to nominate them so that they can be recognized in next year’s event!


10 Years of Service

Turquessa Brown-Krajewski Sharon Kerr Misty Sayar
Kelly Columbus Christopher Lenton Elsie Sedayao
Michele Cusato Annette Leonard Debra Sexton
Amy Drouillard Emily Manion William Sherman
Nancy Fritzemeier Shannon McClintock Gregory Simmons
Matthew Heilbronn Susan Papa Andrea Skiff
Shirley Hoffman Krupa Patel Irina Snell
Amanda Howard Erica Rabban Andrew Szczembara
Michele Hunter-Clark Andrew Rasky Cynthia Wang


20 Years of Service

Jennifer D'Agostino Yelena Kleyman Jason Schwartzenberger
Kevin Forbing Jianhong Liu Teresa Thomas
Maria Gonzalez-Martinez Kimberly Meekins Christopher White
Chia-Mei Huang Melissa Provost Wei Zhao
Theotis Jones Peggy Rost  


30 Years of Service

Brian Englehart Laura Gable Michelle Herrst


40 Years of Service:  

Peggy Otto

Above and Beyond Awards

Division Individuals Honored
Michigan Medicine Laboratories Melina Adler, Jacquelyn Goodman
Division of Quality and Health Improvement Group Award:  Launch of New Test Development Process - Keisha Beck, Michelle Garrasi, Christine Gaunt, Tina Gray, Eleanor Mills, Eric Vasbinder. 
Division of Finance and Research Administration Ashley Boguslaski, Stephanie Edwards, Regina Ferguson, Jennifer Mattison, Catherine Niemiec
Pathology Chair's Office Yvonne Beadle, Angela Suliman, Michal Warner
Division of Pathology Informatics Andrea Hawk, Ivan Holland, William Hubbard, Joshua Jacques, Jeremy Kendzorski, Sravan Kilaru, Brent Temple
Division of Anatomic Pathology Muntajib Alhaq, Kelli Farhat, Nancy Fritzemeier, Casey Hollier, Danielle Hood, Kathryn Kearns, Eric LaPres, Cassandra Lee, Threase Nickerson, Sally Smith, Alexis Snyder, Cortney Sullivan.  Group Awards:  Histology, IPOX and Cytology Labs & Dr. Killen
Division of Clinical Pathology Tierra Banks, Jacquelyn Bates, Ryan Boughton, Brenda Church, Larry Clayton, Kayci Drake, Marche Ellis, Bradley Exell, Christine Falkiewicz, Khaleel Geheim, Joanne Guan, Zachary Harmon, Matthew Heilbronn, Emily Hilliker, Christopher Lenton, Sheridan Mattson, Michele McGee, Santana McIntyre, Michelle Merkel, Laverne Miner, Brandon Newell, Tifani Nicole, Kelly O'Brien, Andrea Parkinson, Alpa Patel, Yusuf Peaks, Hannah Riggs, Jodi Smiley, Rita Spiegelberg, Renee Stoklosa, Todd Teifer, Juan Torres, Katherine Turner, Dawn Wright, Hong Xiao.  Group Awards: Specimen Processing Team: Entire Afternoon/Midnight Shifts and Cancer Center Blood Draw Team