Scott Owens Receives Medical School's Most Prestigious Teaching Award

By Elizabeth Walker | March 28 2018

Scott Owens, MD has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the Kaiser Permanente Award for Excellence in Pre-Clinical Teaching, joining an elite group of educators. Since the award was established in 1977, only three other pathologists have won the award. Owens joins the ranks of the late Gerald Abrams, MD who received the award in 1978, Kent Johnson, MD who received the award in 1989, and Andrew Flint, MD who received the award in 1995. Owens serves the Department of Pathology as Associate Professor of Gastrointestinal and Hepatobiliary Pathology and is the Director of the Division of Quality and Health Improvement. 

Two Kaiser Awards are given annually. One to a faculty member who teaches in the scientific trunk and one who teaches in the clinical years. Faculty and students are invited to nominate teachers who are exemplary role models, have superior teaching ability, who are enthusiastic and inspire enthusiasm in their students, and who exhibit other traits that nominators consider important. After this initial nomination phase, those who have received a significant number or particularly strong nominations are invited to submit secondary nominations. The Medical School Awards Committee reviews these applications, selects finalists, and makes recommendations to the Dean and the Executive Committee who name the recipients. 

Owens will receive the award at the Graduation Luncheon on May 10. Click through to learn more about the Kaiser Award.